Privacy, Email and Data retention policies
In short, we will never sell your information to a third party.
Re-read.ca is not a data mining operation
Many start-ups make more of their money by selling information about their users.
At re-read.ca, we will never sell (or give) your information to anyone else.
- We will not use your name and email address for anything other than our Email policy (below)
- We will not use the information about your links other than for properly extracting the offline content
- We will not publish your list of links to anyone but you and, if we ever allow sharing, people you share links to
- We will not try to keep a copy of your unencrypted password
- We will not use social media logins (such as Facebook login) to publish information in your social media or gather information about you
You should also check what we store and what we don't
, as well as our Password Security information
A warning about the Password Reset function
The password reset function can be used to confirm that your email address is registered in our system.
We could build a "blind" password recovery system which would not inform users if an email is registered or not, but sadly, those password reset forms are less useful since you can't confirm which email address you actually used.
We feel this system is a good trade-off between security and privacy.
We will not contact you other than to:
- Send you an initial confirmation email to make sure your account is valid
- Send you a new password when your use the password reset function
- Inform you that your account is about to be purged for inactivity (for free users)
- Inform you of policy changes in advance, to give you time to purge your account if your disagree (see below)
- Inform you of a promotion or a new features, but not more than twice per year (see below)
- To confirm your account was deleted
Additionally, premium users will receive the following emails:
- Send you your payment receipt and subscription confirmation (for premium users)
- Inform you that your subscription is running out or expired, with renewal instructions
- Send you your scheduled articles, if you want to
A note about policy changes
One of the things that our parent company, Cablan.net, has done over the years is to offer "legacy packages" so that when a policy change affects users negatively, existing users can keep the previous policy.
This is not always possible, but when it is, we will try keep your account on the previous policy
Promotion and new features emails
A change of policy is one thing: we need to inform you. But if we are to offer new features or a special promotion, we might send you an email about it, but not more than 2 per year, and you will be able to mark in your preferences to not receive them.
We will not advertise our premium services by email
The only emails you will receive which will talk about our premium service will be:
- In your account inactivity warning, to remind you to either use your account or become a premium member to avoid being purged
- If we have a real special promotion, that is, a promotion visible on our website and for all users and that counts in our 2 emails per year
We will not email you a special promotion a few days after joining to try to convert your account.
We might announce one on our website and in your account section, but it will not be emailed to you. Just like you, we hate it when we join a website and after a few days, they suddenly have a new promotion just for us in our inbox.
Data Retention Policy
- Free accounts are purged (along with their articles) after 1 year of inactivity and cannot be recovered
- Premium accounts, even if expired, are kept forever (unless deleted by user)
- Accounts deleted by the user are deleted right away, and all of the articles are purged
- Articles are kept forever unless the user deletes them or his account is terminated.
- Deleted articles are purged after 1 week of being deleted